DVD Venet / Sculptures

Artworks - 07/03/2017 - Article : Barbara Fecchio

Released shortly after the historic Bernar Venet exhibition at the Château de Versailles in 2011, the documentary Venet / Sculptures retraces the French artist’s work and highlights his career’s key moments.

Facing the camera, the artist relates his artistic pathway, favoring a chronological narration: from his first sculpture of tar and coal in Nice in 1963, to the monumental Corten steel sculptures displayed today in public and private spaces throughout Europe, the United States and Asia.

The narration on the evolution of his work is supplemented by numerous archival images: past exhibitions, behind the scenes, photographs of his New York studio, misleading maquettes, experiments with steel… But the underlying theme of the movie remains the exhibition at the Château de Versailles. A total of six works: the most imposing sculpture weighs 60 tons and soars 72 feet high. Its arches frame the equestrian statue of Louis XIV on the Place d’Armes at the entrance of the castle. The five other ones are displayed in the garden of the “Sun King”.

Obviously I wasn’t going to be able to display my work inside the castle. My sculptures would not lend themselves to it. However, they do find their plenitude in the alleys of Le Nôtre’s gardens. I think about sunrises and sunsets, and how their golden light will highlight the red-brown of Corten steel. The curves of my sculpture will contrast with the angular geometry of the gardens while echoing the circular shapes of the Apollo basin and of the Grand Canal. — Bernar Venet

This documentary offers a very comprehensive introduction to the work of this sculptor “of the line”.

Comments (0)

Add a comment

DVD Venet / Sculptures

Œuvres - 07/03/2017 - Article : Barbara Fecchio

Sorti après l’exposition historique de Bernar Venet au Château de Versailles en 2011, le film documentaire Venet / Sculptures retrace l’œuvre de l’artiste français et met en lumière les moments clés de sa carrière.

Face à la caméra, l’artiste raconte son parcours artistique, en privilégiant une narration chronologique : de sa première sculpture en goudron et charbon en 1963 à Nice jusqu’aux sculptures monumentales en acier Corten que nous retrouvons aujourd’hui dans des espaces publics et privés en Europe, aux Etats-Unis et en Asie.

De nombreuses images d’archives nourrissent le récit de l’évolution de son travail : expositions passées, coulisses, images de son atelier new-yorkais, maquettes trompeuses, expériences avec l’acier… Mais le fil rouge du film reste l’exposition au Château de Versailles. Six œuvres au total : la sculpture la plus imposante pèse 60 tonnes et s’élève à 22 mètres de hauteur, encadrant de ses arcs la statue équestre de Louis XIV sur la Place d’Armes à l’entrée du château, les cinq autres, monumentales, habitent les jardins du Roi Soleil.

Il était évident que je n’allais pas m’installer à l’intérieur du Château, mes sculptures ne s’y prêtent pas, alors qu’elles trouvent toute leur plénitude dans les allées des jardins de Le Nôtre. Je pense à ces levers et couchers de soleil dont la lumière dorée va mettre en valeur le rouge-brun de l’acier Corten. Les courbes de mes sculptures contrasteront avec la géométrie angulaire des jardins tandis qu’elles accompagneront les contours circulaires du bassin d’Apollon et du Grand Canal. — Bernar Venet

Une introduction très complète au travail de ce sculpteur de la ligne.

Venet / Sculptures — un film de Thierry Spitzer, couleur, 52 min. 2011, éditions Montparnasse.

Commentaires (0)

    Ajouter un commentaire