• Glenn Harper, Twylene Moyer, Landscapes for Art. Contemporary Sculpture Parks, 2008, ISC Press, Hamilton (États-Unis)
  • Glenn Harper, Twylene Moyer, Landscapes for Art. Contemporary Sculpture Parks, 2008, ISC Press, Hamilton (États-Unis)
  • Glenn Harper, Twylene Moyer, Landscapes for Art. Contemporary Sculpture Parks, 2008, ISC Press, Hamilton (États-Unis)
pause 1/3 Photos

Landscapes for Art. Contemporary Sculpture Parks

Artworks - 28/08/2016 - Article : Barbara Fecchio

Landscapes for Art, Contemporary Sculpture Parks, edited in 2008 by Glenn Harper and Twylene Moyer, respectively Editor and Managing Editor of Sculpture Magazine, is an anthology of forty-eight articles, essays and interviews presenting a selection of sculpture parks and approaching a wide range of topics around this theme.

Confronted to the increasing number of sculpture parks and gardens, the editors chose to focus on North America, Europe, Australia and Japan and to only survey the sculpture parks displaying contemporary art since the 1980s.

Art critics, landscape architects, garden professionals, exhibition curators: by choosing a wide array of voices the perspectives are constantly renewed, which makes this small book particularly rich.

You will discover projects that were never completed, the challenges of maintaining and restoring parks, artworks, and collections and explore issues surrounding cultural tourism. Topics are numerous, diverse, and always current and the sites are constantly evolving and adapting. Lastly, as the editors point out in their foreword, what those places have in common lies in the connection between the work of art, the environment, and the history of the site, which all closely intertwine to end up becoming one.

Glenn Harper, Twylene Moyer, Landscapes for Art. Contemporary Sculpture Parks, 2008, ISC Press, Hamilton 

Comments (0)

Add a comment

• Glenn Harper, Twylene Moyer, Landscapes for Art. Contemporary Sculpture Parks, 2008, ISC Press, Hamilton (États-Unis)
  • Glenn Harper, Twylene Moyer, Landscapes for Art. Contemporary Sculpture Parks, 2008, ISC Press, Hamilton (États-Unis)
  • Glenn Harper, Twylene Moyer, Landscapes for Art. Contemporary Sculpture Parks, 2008, ISC Press, Hamilton (États-Unis)
pause 1/3 Photos

Landscapes for Art. Contemporary Sculpture Parks

Œuvres - 28/08/2016 - Article : Barbara Fecchio

Landscapes for Art. Contemporary Sculpture Parks, édité en 2008 par Glenn Harper et Twylene Moyer, respectivement directeur de la rédaction et rédactrice en chef de la revue Sculpture, est une anthologie de quarante-huit articles, essais et interviews qui présentent une sélection de parcs de sculptures et abordent des questions très variées autour de ce sujet. 

Face au nombre de plus en plus important de parcs et jardins de sculptures, les éditeurs ont choisi de se concentrer sur l’Amérique du Nord, l’Europe, l’Australie et le Japon et de n’évoquer que les parcs de sculptures exposant principalement de l’art contemporain depuis les années 1980.

Critiques d’art, architectes paysagistes, professionnels des jardins, commissaires d’exposition, la parole a été donnée à des personnalités très diverses, un choix qui rend ce petit ouvrage très riche car le regard porté y est toujours neuf. 

Vous trouverez ainsi des projets artistiques jamais réalisées, des problématiques d’entretien d’un parc, des questions de manutention et restauration d’une œuvre, d’entretien d’une collection ou encore de tourisme culturel. Les sujets sont nombreux et variés, les questionnements sont toujours d’actualité et les lieux sont en constante évolution et adaptation. Dernier point, comme les éditeurs le soulignent dans l’avant-propos, le fil rouge parmi tous ces endroits : l’œuvre d’art, l’environnement et l’histoire du lieu sont toujours imbriqués pour former un seul un tout.

Glenn Harper, Twylene Moyer, Landscapes for Art. Contemporary Sculpture Parks, 2008, ISC Press, Hamilton (États-Unis)

Commentaires (0)

    Ajouter un commentaire