• Château La Coste, France
  • Louise Bourgeois, Crouching Spider, 2007
  • Alexander Calder, Small Crinkly, 1976
  • Hiroshi Sugimoto, Mathematical Model 012 Surface Of Revolution With Constant Negative Curvature, 2010
  • Sean Scully, Boxes Full of Air , 2015
  • Sean Scully, Wall of Light Cubed, 2007
  • Tunga, Psicopompos, 2011
  • Tunga, Psicopompos, 2011
  • Tunga, Psicopompos, 2011
  • Tunga, Psicopompos, 2011
  • Frank Gehry, Le Pavillon de la Musique, 2008
  • Guggi, Calix Meus Inebrians, 2009
  • Richard Serra, AIX, 2008
  • Jean-Michel Othoniel, La Grande Croix Rouge, 2007-2008
  • Liam Gillick, Multiplied Resistence Screened, 2010
  • Liam Gillick, Multiplied Resistence Screened, 2010
pause 1/16 Photos

Le Château La Coste, France

Destinations - 01/11/2018 - Photos : Barbara Fecchio

In Puy-Sainte-Réparade, in the heart of Provence near Aix-en-Provence, the Château La Coste, a 500-acre vineyard, offers a two-hour long “Art & Architecture” itinerary among vineyards, scrubland and forest. This artistic itinerary features 34 outdoor works: sculptures and installations by internationally renowned artists, buildings designed by today’s most prominent architects and even a landscaped garden (Potager, 2014) signed Louis Benech. Here, according to Irish millionaire Patrick “Paddy” McKillen’s wish, nature, contemporary art and architecture are at the heart of the estate’s activity.

First encounter upon arriving on the estate of the Château La Coste: a long, sleek, V-shaped building made of smooth concrete, glass and metal, surrounded by water. This center, which hosts a café-restaurant and a bookstore, was conceived by Japanese architect Tadao Ando and remarkably interacts with its natural environment. The gigantic bay windows blur the separation between indoors and the outdoors. A colonnade leads visitors to the vineyards. The water reflects the concrete walls. Artworks emerge from these basins: a spider by Louise Bourgeois (Crouching Spider, 2007), a mobile by Alexander Calder (Small Crinkly, 1976), etc.

 

Stars of contemporary architecture

On this historical wine estate, you will find no castle or old stones. Contemporary architecture prevails. No less than four Pritzker laureate architects – the equivalent of the Nobel Prize in architecture – have designed buildings or installations for this large natural park. In addition to Tadao Ando’s numerous contributions, visitors will also discover the winery – two shiny aluminum hemi-cylinders – by Jean Nouvel; the music Pavilion – an explosion of shapes and stacked elements – originally conceived for the Serpentine Gallery in 2008 by Frank Ghery; and the exhibition Pavilion – partly underground, its glass roof blending with the horizon – by Renzo Piano. Patrick McKillen is planning on a new exhibition pavilion by Richard Rodgers (and a 5th laureate!)

The large majority of the works are site-specific. Architects and artists have been given total freedom in creating and placing their works; and the promenade “Art & Architecture” stretches over the whole estate. Among others, visitors will stumble upon three sheets of steel by Richard Serra (AIX, 2008), a skulk of golden bronze foxes hidden in the woods, by former REM singer Michael Stipe (Fox, 2008), a yellow phallus erected among trees (Faux-pas, 2006) by Franz West, a cross made of red glass beads by Jean-Michel Othoniel (La Grande Croix Rouge, 2007-2008) located near the amazing chapel reimagined by Tadao Ando’s work on light, or, at the end of a long board walk, an installation by Tracy Emin (Self-Portrait: Cat Inside A Barrel, 2013).

 

A collection of works by renowned contemporary artists, featuring several truly remarkable pieces

Liam Gillick’s Multiplied Resistence Screened (2010) is an interactive artwork made of aluminum and stainless steel and into which visitors are encouraged to enter and move the sliding walls, thus creating surprising graphic combinations of colors and lines against the natural background.

Andy Goldsworthy takes visitors underground into a huge dome made of intertwined oak branches. Oak Room (2009) is half-way between a shelter and a dark hole. Two almost antithetical works by British artist Sean Scully are facing each other from across a vineyard patch: Boxes Full of Air (2015) and Wall of Light Cubed (2007). These two works feature her signature geometries: one of them plays with “full”, pink and gray-colored blocks of stone, whereas the other plays with “hollow” metallic frames that seem to fragment the landscape.

Brazilian sculptor Tunga conceived Psicopompos (2011), which consists of three monumental arches made of stone from a local quarry and magnets to which are suspended blocks of different minerals: quartz from Peru or glass prisms. These strange systems play with symbolism since in Greek mythology Psicopompos are the tools used to measure human souls on their way to the afterlife.

The work that was most recently added to the estate is located on its outskirts and hidden in a grove. Dead End (2018), by Sophie Calle, is a white marble grave onto which is engraved this epitaph: “Here lies the wanderer’s secrets”. A slot at the center of the grave allows visitors to slip written confessions on pieces of paper available nearby. Through the poetry of the gesture and the location of the installation, Sophie Calle manages to carve a moment of introspection, out of time, into this itinerary.

If one wants to take the time to truly look and reflect on the works, visiting the sculpture park of the Château La Coste, which opened to the public in 2011, will require good walking shoes and more than the recommended two hours. Visitors will wander on the trails, turn around, get lost, linger. The views on the hills of Provence and the rows of vines, the light and the colors of the South of France all offer a beautiful setting for the contemporary artworks. At the end of the visit, enjoy a glass of organic rosé from the estate to complete the experience.

 

Château La Coste
2750 Route de la Cride
13610 Le Puy Ste Réparade, France
Phone : +33 (0)4 42 61 92 92

Latest Articles

• Château La Coste, France
  • Louise Bourgeois, Crouching Spider, 2007
  • Alexander Calder, Small Crinkly, 1976
  • Hiroshi Sugimoto, Mathematical Model 012 Surface Of Revolution With Constant Negative Curvature, 2010
  • Sean Scully, Boxes Full of Air , 2015
  • Sean Scully, Wall of Light Cubed, 2007
  • Tunga, Psicopompos, 2011
  • Tunga, Psicopompos, 2011
  • Tunga, Psicopompos, 2011
  • Tunga, Psicopompos, 2011
  • Frank Gehry, Le Pavillon de la Musique, 2008
  • Guggi, Calix Meus Inebrians, 2009
  • Richard Serra, AIX, 2008
  • Jean-Michel Othoniel, La Grande Croix Rouge, 2007-2008
  • Liam Gillick, Multiplied Resistence Screened, 2010
  • Liam Gillick, Multiplied Resistence Screened, 2010
pause 1/16 Photos

Le Château La Coste en Provence, France

Destinations - 01/11/2018 - Photos : Barbara Fecchio

Au cœur de l’arrière-pays provençal, aux environs d’Aix en Provence, au Puy-Sainte-Réparade, Le Château La Coste, un domaine viticole de 200 hectares, propose une « promenade Art & Architecture » de deux heures entre vigne, garrigue et foret. Le parcours artistique compte 34 œuvres en plein air : sculptures et installations d’artistes de renommée internationale, bâtiments dessinés par les architectes stars d’aujourd’hui, et même un aménagement paysagé (Potager, 2014) signé Louis Benech. Ici, selon la volonté du maître des lieux, le millionnaire irlandais Patrick « Paddy » McKillen, la nature, l’art contemporain et l’architecture sont au cœur de l’activité du Château.

Première rencontre sur le domaine du Château La Coste : un long bâtiment en V épuré de béton lisse, de verre et de métal, bordé par un plan d’eau. Abritant un café-restaurant et une librairie, ce centre d’art conçu par l’architecte japonais Tadao Ando dialogue remarquablement avec son environnement naturel. Les immenses baies vitrées rendent perméables les espaces extérieurs et intérieurs. Une colonnade s’échappe du bâtiment vers les vignes. Les plans d’eau reflètent à l’infini les pans de béton. Dans ces bassins, des œuvres émergent : une araignée de Louise Bourgeois (Crouching Spider, 2007), un mobile d’Alexander Calder (Small Crinkly, 1976), etc.

Les stars de l’architecture contemporaine
Pas de château et pas de vieilles pierres sur ce domaine viticole historique : c’est au contraire l’architecture contemporaine qui y règne. Pas moins de quatre architectes lauréats du prix Pritzker – l’équivalent du Nobel en architecture – ont dessinés des bâtiments ou des aménagements pour cet immense parc naturel. Outre les très nombreuses contributions de Tadao Ando au domaine, on y découvre : le chai de vinification – deux hémi-cylindres en aluminium brillant – par Jean Nouvel ; le Pavillon de la musique – une explosion de formes et d’éléments superposées – conçu à l’origine pour la Serpentine Gallery en 2008 par Frank Gehry ; le Pavillon d’exposition – semi-enterré, le toit en verre faisant corps avec la ligne d’horizon – par Renzo Piano. Patrick McKillen pense confier prochainement la réalisation d’un nouveau pavillon d’exposition à… Richard Rodgers. (Et de 5 lauréats !)

La grande majorité des œuvres sont des créations in situ. Architectes et artistes ont eu carte blanche pour concevoir et positionner leurs œuvres ; et la promenade « Art & Architecture » se déploie ainsi aux quatre coins du domaine. On peut y découvrir notamment trois lames d’acier de Richard Serra (AIX, 2008), une meute de renards en bronze dorés (Fox, 2008) cachés dans les bois de Michael Stipe (ex-chanteur de REM), un phallus jaune (Faux-pas, 2006) érigé au milieu des arbres de Franz West, une croix en perles de verre rouge de Jean-Michel Othoniel (La Grande Croix Rouge, 2007-2008) aux abords de l’incroyable chapelle réhabi(li)tée par le travail sur la lumière de Tadao Ando, ou encore une installation de Tracy Emin (Self-Portrait : Cat Inside A Barrel, 2013) au bout une longue passerelle.

Une collection de grands noms de l’art contemporain, dont plusieurs œuvres véritablement remarquables
Multiplied Resistence Screened (2010) est une œuvre interactive de Liam Gillick, en aluminium et acier inoxydable, dans laquelle le spectateur est invité à pénétrer pour en déplacer les claustras coulissantes. Les différentes combinaisons de couleurs et de lignes qui en résultent composent d’étonnants jeux graphiques sur fond de nature.
Andy Goldsworthy entraîne le visiteur sous terre, sous un immense dôme de branches de chêne entrelacées. Oak Room (2009) est à mi-chemin entre l’abri et le trou noir.
Deux œuvres – presque antithétiques – de Sean Scully se font face de part et d’autre d’une parcelle de vigne : Boxes Full of Air (2015) et Wall of Light Cubed (2007). Ces deux œuvres reprennent le vocabulaire caractéristique de l’artiste britannique, l’une des œuvres jouant avec le plein et la composition colorée des blocs de calcaire gris et rose, et l’autre jouant avec le vide et induisant des compositions fragmentées de paysage au travers des cadres formés par des lignes métalliques.
Le sculpteur brésilien Tunga a conçu Psicopompos (2011), trois arches monumentales en pierre de Rognes – une carrière locale – et en aimant auxquelles sont suspendus divers blocs de minéraux : quartz du Pérou ou prisme de verre. Ces étranges systèmes jouent de symbolisme avec le nom de l’œuvre Psicopompos, une référence aux outils de mesure de l’âme humaine lors du passage dans l’au-delà, dans la mythologie grecque.
Dernière œuvre installée au Château La Coste, à lisière du domaine, et cachée dans un bosquet, Dead End (2018) de Sophie Calle est une sépulture en marbre blanc sur laquelle est gravée comme épitaphe « Ici reposent les secrets des promeneurs ». Une fente au centre de la tombe permet au visiteur de glisser sa confession écrite sur une feuille de papier, mise à disposition à proximité. Par la poésie du geste et la localisation de l’œuvre, Sophie Calle parvient à ménager au cours du parcours un moment d’introspection, un moment hors du temps.

Ouvert au public en 2011, le parc de sculpture du Château La Coste, si l’on prend le temps du regard et de la réflexion sur les œuvres, demande davantage que les deux heures annoncées – et de bonnes chaussures. On s’aventure sur les sentiers, on revient sur ses pas, on se perd, on s’attarde. Les vues sur les collines provençales et les rangs de vignes, la lumière et les couleurs du sud de la France offrent un bel écrin aux œuvres contemporaines. En fin de visite, pour parachever l’expérience : un verre de rosé du domaine, travaillé en biodynamie.

 

Château La Coste
2750 Route de la Cride
13610 Le Puy Ste Réparade, France
Tél : +33 (0)4 42 61 92 92

 

Derniers Articles