• Enea Tree Museum. Photo Dominique Haim.
  • Enea Tree Museum. Photo Dominique Haim.
  • Enea Tree Museum. Photo Dominique Haim.
  • Enea Tree Museum. Photo Dominique Haim.
  • Enea Tree Museum. Photo Dominique Haim.
  • Enea Tree Museum. Photo Dominique Haim.
  • Enea Tree Museum. Photo Dominique Haim.
  • Enea Tree Museum. Photo Dominique Haim.
  • Enea Tree Museum. Photo Dominique Haim.
  • Enea Tree Museum. Photo Dominique Haim.
  • Enea Tree Museum. Photo Dominique Haim.
  • Enea Tree Museum. Photo Dominique Haim.
pause 1/12 Photos

Enea Tree Museum, Another Vision on Outdoor Sculpture

Destinations - 12/05/2015 - Article : Dominique Haim - Photos : Dominique Haim

In entering Enea Gardens, an hour away south of Zurich, you will be greated by works of art by such artists as Sergio Tappa, Richard Deacon, Marc Quinn or Richard Erdman, but the magnificent sculptures are the trees themselves.

Enzo Enea, an internationally renowned landscape architect based in Miami, USA, and Rapperswill-Jona, Switzerland, presents here a Tree Museum.

As in the best museums, the director, Mr. Enea in this case, assembled the jewels of his magical collection. He explains: “Over the years I’ve collected many old and beautiful trees that would have been cut down to provide space for buildings”.

In a curatorial manner, Enea installed outdoor “museum walls” built from large blocks of limestone, giving the garden simultaneously an archeological dimension, a modernist architectural tone and a theatrical atmosphere. Each tree is set against one of those backdrops, to each year conquer a little more the walls with their astonishing foliage. Each season bringing a new performance. On the autumn day we visited, we were lucky to witness the immense beauty left by the core of the trees’ naked bodies with their glorious robe at their feet.

Each tree comes with its story. Its fact sheet. Assembled together for the viewer to consider them as sculptures as well as performing artists.

Enea’s interest in trees and landscaping came from his father, who made and sold terracotta and stone pots for gardens. Having kept most of the beautiful potteries from his father’s collection, Enea has included them in his museum.

Often confronted with clients who wanted to discard old trees, Enea decided to “save” them. He would have the old tree transported to his nursery in Switzerland. Sometimes with the help of helicopters when the trees were too high to pass under bridges or too wide to fit on a truck. Once back at the nursery, he would wrap each branch with a bandage like a wounded soldier and pamper it back to their new environment and new climate. The trees are all native to the region. From that emerged the idea of a museum for these ancient trees.

As in a laboratory, he experimented to learn how far he could cut back the roots, the branches, not only to facilitate transportation but also to see how trees could readapt in new environments. Working a lot in megapolises such as Sao Paolo, Brazil or several Chinese cities, he is looking to reintroduce trees on skyscraper rooftops as a way to deal with urban pollution.

But here, on the edge of the Zurich lake, at the foothills of the Alps, in the fresh air of Switzerland, Enzo Enea has “curated” his exhibition. Putting forth primarily the
artistic beauty of trees where maturity and age offers us their imposing stature.

Enea Tree Museum
Buechstrasse 12
8645 Rapperswil-Jona
Switzerland

Opening hours
March to October
Monday – Friday, 9 AM – 6 PM
Saturday, 10 AM – 5 PM

November to February
Monday – Friday, 9 AM – 5:30 PM
Saturday, 10 AM – 4 PM
Closed on Sundays, public holidays and from December 24th through January 31st.
www.enea.ch/baummuseum

Admission
Adults: CHF 15.00 ($ 15.50 / 14,50 euros)
Groups (from 10 persons) and students with ID: CHF 12.00 ($ 12.50 / 11,50 euros)
Guided tours on request

Comments (0)

    Add a comment

• Enea Tree Museum. Photo Dominique Haim.
  • Enea Tree Museum. Photo Dominique Haim.
  • Enea Tree Museum. Photo Dominique Haim.
  • Enea Tree Museum. Photo Dominique Haim.
  • Enea Tree Museum. Photo Dominique Haim.
  • Enea Tree Museum. Photo Dominique Haim.
  • Enea Tree Museum. Photo Dominique Haim.
  • Enea Tree Museum. Photo Dominique Haim.
  • Enea Tree Museum. Photo Dominique Haim.
  • Enea Tree Museum. Photo Dominique Haim.
  • Enea Tree Museum. Photo Dominique Haim.
  • Enea Tree Museum. Photo Dominique Haim.
pause 1/12 Photos

Le musée d’arbres Enea, une autre vision de la sculpture d’extérieur

Destinations - 12/05/2015 - Article : Dominique Haim - Photos : Dominique Haim

A l’entrée du musée d’arbres Enea, situé à une heure de route au sud de Zurich, le visiteur est accueilli par des œuvres d’artistes tels que Sergio Tappa, Richard Deacon, Marc Quinn ou Richard Erdman. Mais les sculptures les plus surprenantes de ce jardin sont, sans aucun doute, les arbres eux-mêmes.

Enzo Enea, paysagiste à la renommée internationale basé à Miami aux Etats-Unis et à Rapperswill-Jona en Suisse, nous offre ici un musée entièrement dédié à l’arbre.

Comme dans tous les meilleurs musées, le directeur, en l’occurrence Mr. Enea, a réuni les joyaux de sa fantastique collection. Il explique : « Au fil des ans, j’ai collectionné de nombreux arbres magnifiques, parfois très âgés, qui auraient été abattus pour laisser place à des bâtiments. »

A la façon d’un véritable conservateur de musée, Enea a fait construire des murs constitués de larges blocs de roche calcaire, donnant ainsi au jardin tout à la fois une dimension archéologique, une note architecturale et une atmosphère théâtrale. Chaque arbre est adossé à l’un de ces blocs et chaque année couvre un peu plus, de son magnifique feuillage, l’espace du mur. Chaque saison est un nouveau spectacle. Nous avons visité le jardin par une journée d’automne et avons eu la chance de pouvoir admirer l’incroyable beauté des corps dénudés des arbres, leur somptueuse parure gisant à leur pied.

Chaque arbre a son histoire, minutieusement documentée afin de permettre au spectateur de le percevoir comme véritable sculpture et artiste de scène.

La passion d’Enea pour les arbres et le paysages lui est venue de son père, qui fabriquait et vendait des jardinières de pierre et de terre cuite. Enea a conservé la plupart de ses poteries et les a incluses dans son musée.

Se retrouvant souvent face à une clientèle souhaitant se débarrasser de vieux arbres, Enea s’est donné pour mission de les « sauver ». Il les faisait transporter à sa pépinière en Suisse, parfois recourant même à l’aide d’hélicoptères lorsque l’arbre était trop grand pour passer sous un pont ou trop large pour être chargé sur un camion. Une fois à la pépinière, comme pour un soldat blessé, il emmaillotait chaque branche de l’arbre d’un bandage et en prenait soin pour l’aider à s’acclimater à ce nouvel environnement. Les arbres sont tous originaires de la région. De là, l’idée d’un musée d’arbres anciens.

Tel un savant dans son laboratoire, il expérimente, apprend à maîtriser la coupe des racines et la taille des branches au plus court, non seulement pour faciliter le transport de l’arbre mais également pour assurer son adaptation à de nouveaux environnements. Enea travaille beaucoup dans de grandes mégalopoles brésiliennes et chinoises où il installe des arbres sur les toits des gratte-ciels afin de lutter contre la pollution.

Mais ici, sur les rives du lac de Zurich, au pied des montagnes et à l’air pur des Alpes suisses, Enzo Enea fait pour sa collection un travail de « conservateur », en révélant avant tout la beauté artistique de l’arbre auquel la maturité et les ans ont apporté l’imposante stature.

Enea B
Buechstrasse 12
8645 Rapperswil-Jona
Suisse

Heures d’ouverture
De mars à octobre
Du lundi au vendredi de 9h à 18h
Le samedi de 10h à 17h

Novembre à février
Du lundi au vendredi de 9h à 17h30
Les samedi de 10h à 16h
Fermé le dimanche, durant les vacances scolaires et du 24 décembre au 31 janvier
www.enea.ch

Entrées
Adultes: CHF 15,00 ($ 15.50 / 14,50 euros)
Groupe (à partir de 10 personnes) et étudiants munis de carte: CHF 12,00 ($ 12.50 / 11,50 euros)
Visites guidées sur demande

Commentaires (0)

    Ajouter un commentaire