• Franz West, Spalt, 2003 Photo : www.visitnorway.fr
  • Photo : www.visitnorway.fr
pause 1/2 Photos

Tjuvholmen Sculpture Park, Oslo

Destinations - 18/12/2019 - Article : José Rui Pardal Pina

Given the increasing power of large corporations and their monopolization of the common good, a movement is bound to react sooner or later, from the inside or the outside, to demand something in return, something to fill in the ideological and communitarian void caused by neoliberal interests. That is when corporations realize they can benefit from sharing part of their wealth, collections and assets with the public. Culture perfectly illustrates that, with the construction of great museums and acquisitions of various artworks and authors.

Of course, there is a hidden side to all of this: large museums become, in turn, great corporations and the purchase of artworks tends to benefit a limited group of authors, particularly those who attract crowds and the media. Nevertheless, it remains a gesture in favor of culture and of public, political and institutional debates, which need to be followed.

Institutional critique has been lacking: it tends to forget purely artistic critique; favoring the macro level, it disregards proximity, which is essential to physically, emotionally and aesthetically experiencing works of art. The balance needs to be restored. For each artist that is lost, a few others are helped, privileged, even protected, without falling in a paternalistic, protectionist or charitable rhetoric. It is, very simply, a question of symmetry: a word that has been forgotten.

Since 2002, the Selvaag Gruppen and the Aspelin Ramm Gruppen have been developing some of Oslo’s most ambitious urban projects: the Tjuvholmen neighborhood is an ecosystem of businesses, high finances, luxury condos and culture. Conceived according to Renzo Piano’s museographic project and managed by two real estate companies, the Astrup Fearnley Museum is a private museum offering a collection that chose to include the market’s greatest names and most impactful artworks:  all in all, a corporate collection including Damien Hirst, Jeff Koons, David Hockney, Elmgreen & Dragset, Nan Goldin, Francis Bacon, Tracey Emin, Cindy Sherman, Wolfgang Tillman, Rirkrit Tiravanija, among many, many others. The current Gilbert & George exhibition and the Anselm Kiefer one, which just closed, are both stunning – particularly the latter – and clearly demonstrate the potential of private museums and their ability to host great retrospective exhibitions of major contemporary artists.

The sculptures located in the park next to the museum do not belong to the museum but to the two companies’ portfolios of artworks and artists. The morphology of the park and the placement of the artworks are radically different from the Ekebergparken sculpture park and from another, similar, more modest one (but just as interesting): the Henie Onstad Kunstenter, located on the outskirts of Oslo. In the first two, the predominance of trees and greenery gives them a mystical, magnetic aura, whereas Tjuvhomen’s singularity and appeal stem from the proximity of the fjords’ water. That said, there are so many sculpture parks in Oslo that is it only natural to compare them, without necessarily making value judgments.

Unlike Ekebergparken or the Henie Onstad Kunstsenter, visitors don’t have the sensation of entering a place of retreat at Tjuvholmen. The landscape is open, with few trees; it privileges the immensity of the horizon and sunlight; it is easily accessible and welcoming. It is, after all, an urban park, animated by residential complexes, surrounding businesses, passersby, and Oslo’s maritime activity. It isn’t uncommon to see ships and ferries cleave through Norway’s cold waters; from time to time a call for boarding or landing resounds – ship horns so loud they make the air vibrate and startle people who are not used to them.

Just like Ekebergparken, there is no propensity for monumentality here, except for Louise Bourgeois’ Eyes, but that is probably due to the figurative and conceptual aspects of the piece rather than to its size. Here, no sculpture truly stands out from the others. The fact that an architect, Renzo Piano, designed the park can explain the absence of hierarchy in favor of a well-thought-out balance.

Louise Bourgeois’ Eyes belongs to the surrealist discourse and to the realm of the signs and significations that this organ has been representing in artists’ delirious dreams. However, this reading might be simplistic and leave out Bourgeois’ scathing, often playful, criticism. Where some might see two eyes, others see two breasts. This superimposition of perceptions places Eyes in the masculine perception of feminine shapes. Breasts are the sexual attributes men look at first. On this small hillock, Bourgeois places her shapes, exposing them to everyone’s modesty and perception, free of taboos and filled with power.

Paul McCarthy has also sculpted a fascinating work. The artist paints Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs in black, a color that, in itself, already gives a sinister aspect to the ensemble. But McCarthy goes further and also distorts the figures. Not radically, just a few touches that transform the adorable and beloved tale into a terrifying one. In this context, sex, violence and fear are the instruments used by the author, who still sees in the subversion of folktales a way of understanding the occult and inexpressible aspects of imagination.

As for Franz West, it is in color that he finds the patterns of his works, and in this specific place in Oslo. Spalt highlights marine objects that belong to local memory: the buoy, the rope and the anchor are objects that can often be spotted on the boats that sail along the docks of Oslo. Vivid colors celebrate local character and counterbalance the often-grey atmosphere of Norwegian days. Artist Chairs also participates to this characteristic and erases the propensity for classification and taxonomy of modern understanding. The chairs can indeed be used, each with its own design and comfort, but they nevertheless remain objects created in the singular, unique and untouchable aura of art and of the whole system that supports that degree of eccentricity. Urban furniture or art? That is the question West is asking.

Anish Kapoor and Ellsworth Kelly offer the most minimalist object of this selection of sculptures. Kapoor works with a block of alabaster, a parallelepiped in which he carves a concavity. The sensuality is sculpted in the shape and Untitled has a haptic dimension rather than an optical one. With Kelly, it’s not so much the materiality of the sculpture that stands out but rather its shape. Untitled (Totem) questions the way we perceive ancient, monumental totemic objects. Here, because the size remains modest, the sculpture cannot be seen as a construction that is closed onto itself. Exterior elements are called upon within a game of perceptions and relations: from their location in relation to the horizon and to the park, as well as with the sun and the grass.

Things for a House on an Island is without a doubt the strangest encounter in this sculpture park. Peter Fischli & David Weiss stage a dwelling devoid of its inhabitants. Through the window, visitors can see what could be perceived as someone’s intimacy and the desire of isolation and reclusion as part of a romantic ideal.

On the other side of the Astrup Fearnley Museum, after the bridge that crosses the narrow canal, Antony Gormley defies gravity and tridimensional axes. An iron figure is firmly installed, standing horizontal to the museum wall. It gazes down at us, menacing, as though it were about to fall. But its static appearance contrasts with the suggestion of movement of gravity itself.

Close by, on the other side of the stairs, Ugo Rondinone casts the enormous head of a fantastic creature. While it certainly bears a resemblance with a cartoon character, it is impossible not to notice something insidious about its expression. MOONRISE. east. November. is as much a cartoon figure as it is part of a future larger sculpture, offering a glimpse of a colossal monster.

To sum up, Tjuvholmen Sculpture Park is a welcoming, family-friendly place, which benefits from its complicity with the Astrup Fearnley Museum and from its surrounding landscape. Its vitality comes from its proximity to Oslo’s urban and cosmopolitan life and from the various photographic opportunities it offers – a specificity that is in fact still used by cultural institutions and foundations as windows of opportunities for tourism and the media. And its proximity to the fjords creates the double desire to contemplate this ensemble of sculptures on land, but also from the sea: a totally different way of experiencing art.

skulpturparken.webflow.io

Comments (0)

    Add a comment

• Franz West, Spalt, 2003 Photo : www.visitnorway.fr
  • Photo : www.visitnorway.fr
pause 1/2 Photos

Tjuvholmen Sculpture Park, Oslo

Destinations - 18/12/2019 - Article : José Rui Pardal Pina

Face à l’emprise croissante des grands groupes et leur accaparement du bien commun, un mouvement de réaction naît tôt ou tard, de l’intérieur ou de l’extérieur, pour exiger quelque chose en retour, quelque chose pour combler le vide idéologique et communautaire causé par les intérêts néolibéraux. C’est à ce moment que les grands groupes commencent à voir l’intérêt de partager une partie de leurs fonds, collections et actifs avec le public. Le pari sur la culture en est l’exemple par excellence, avec la construction de grands musées et l’acquisition d’œuvres et d’auteurs divers.

Évidemment, cela cache quelque chose : les grands musées deviennent à leur tour de grands groupes et l’achat d’œuvres tend à bénéficier un groupe restreint d’auteurs, surtout ceux qui déplacent les foules et font les spectacles médiatiques. Malgré tout, cela reste un geste en faveur de la culture et du débat public, critique et institutionnel, qu’il est important de suivre.

La critique institutionnelle a un défaut : elle a tendance à oublier la critique proprement artistique ; privilégiant le niveau macro, elle dédaigne la proximité, indispensable pour faire l’expérience physique, émotionnelle et esthétique des œuvres d’art. L’équilibre doit être rétabli. Pour un artiste perdu, quelques autres sont aidés, favorisés, voire protégés, sans tomber dans la rhétorique paternaliste, protectionniste ou charitable. C’est tout simplement une question de symétrie : un mot oublié.

Depuis 2002, le Selvaag Gruppen et l’Aspelin Ramm Gruppen développent un des projets d’urbanisme les plus ambitieux d’Oslo : le quartier de Tjuvholmen est un écosystème d’entreprises, de haute finance, de logements de luxe et de culture. Conçu suivant le projet muséographique de Renzo Piano et géré par ces deux entreprises du marché immobilier, l’Astrup Fearnley Museum est un musée privé, doté d’une collection pariant sur les grands noms et les pièces les plus impactantes du marché. En somme, une collection d’entreprise : Damien Hirst, Jeff Koons, David Hockney, Elmgreen & Dragset, Nan Goldin, Francis Bacon, Tracey Emin, Cindy Sherman, Wolfgang Tillman, Rirkrit Tiravanija, parmi beaucoup, beaucoup d’autres. L’exposition actuelle de Gilbert & George, et celle d’Anselm Kiefer, qui vient de prendre fin, sont deux expositions stupéfiantes – surtout celle de Kiefer – qui démontrent clairement le potentiel des musées privés et leur capacité à accueillir de grandes expositions rétrospectives de noms incontournables de l’art contemporain.

Les sculptures dans le parc contigu au musée n’appartiennent pas à ce dernier mais au portefeuille d’œuvres et d’artistes des deux entreprises en question. La morphologie du parc et la disposition des œuvres est radicalement différente à la fois du parc de sculptures Ekebergparken, et d’un autre semblable mais plus modeste (mais non moins intéressant), le Henie Onstad Kunstsenter, dans les environs d’Oslo. Dans les deux premiers, la présence des arbres et la verdure prédominante leur confèrent une aura aussi mystique que magnétique, tandis que Tjuvhomen est unique et attirant en raison de la proximité des eaux des fjords. Cela dit, il y a tant de parcs de sculptures à Oslo qu’il est normal de les comparer, sans pour autant sous-entendre des jugements de valeur.

Le visiteur à Tjuvholmen n’a pas la sensation d’entrer dans un lieu de retraite comme dans l’Ekebergparken ou dans le Henie Onstad Kunstsenter. Le paysage est ouvert, avec peu d’arbres ; il privilégie l’immensité de l’horizon et la lumière du soleil ; et il est d’une grande facilité d’accès et convivialité. Après tout, c’est un parc urbain animé par les ensembles résidentiels, les services adjacents, les passants et l’activité maritime d’Oslo. Il n’est pas rare de voir les paquebots et les ferries fendre les eaux froides de la Norvège ; de temps en temps, retentit l’appel à l’embarquement et au débarquement – une sirène qui fait vibrer l’atmosphère et sursauter ceux qui n’en ont pas l’habitude.

Comme l’Ekebergparken, aucune propension à la monumentalité ici. Exception faite de Eyes, de Louise Bourgeois, mais cela s’explique sans doute par l’aspect figuratif et conceptuel plus que par la dimension de l’œuvre, aucune sculpture ne se détachant vraiment de l’ensemble. Le fait que le parc aussi ait été conçu par Renzo Piano, donc par un architecte, peut expliquer cette absence de hiérarchies au profit d’un équilibre réfléchi.

Eyes, de Louise Bourgeois, s’inscrit dans le discours surréaliste et dans les signes et signifiés que représentait cet organe dans les rêves délirants des artistes. Toutefois, cette lecture risque d’être simpliste et d’occulter quelque peu l’esprit mordant et critique, parfois joyeux, dont Bourgeois était capable de faire preuve. Là où certains voient deux yeux, d’autres y voient deux seins. Cette superposition de regards inscrit Eyes dans la perception masculine des formes féminines. Les seins sont le caractère sexuel sur lequel le regard masculin se porte en premier. Sur un petit monticule, Bourgeois dresse ces formes, les exposant sans pudeur à la perception de tout un chacun, sans tabous et pleine de pouvoir.

Paul McCarthy a sculpté une œuvre également frappante. L’artiste peint les personnages de Blanche-Neige et les sept nains en noir. Une couleur qui, en soi, donne déjà un aspect sinistre à l’ensemble, mais McCarthy va plus loin et tord les silhouettes. Pas totalement, juste quelques touches qui transforment le conte adorable et adoré en un conte de terreur. Dans ce contexte, sexe, violence et peur sont les instruments utilisés par l’auteur, qui voit encore dans la subversion des contes populaires une façon de comprendre le côté occulte et inénarrable de l’imagination.

Franz West, lui, trouve dans la couleur et dans ce lieu spécifique d’Oslo les motifs de ses œuvres. Spalt met en avant les objets marins appartenant à la mémoire locale : la bouée, la corde et l’ancre sont des objets souvent aperçus sur les bateaux qui traversent le quai et les docks d’Oslo. Les tons vifs sont une célébration de cette spécificité locale et servent d’équilibre atmosphérique pendant les nombreuses journées grises de la Norvège. Artist Chairs participe également à cette caractéristique et efface la tendance au classement et à la taxonomie de l’entendement moderne. Les chaises peuvent effectivement être utilisées, chacune avec son design et confort, mais elles n’en sont pas moins des objets conçus dans l’aura singulière, unique et intouchable de l’art et de tout le système qui supporte ce degré d’exceptionnalité. Mobilier urbain ou art ? Telle est la question posée par West.

Anish Kapoor et Ellsworth Kelly proposent les objets les plus minimalistes dans cette sélection de sculptures. Kapoor travaille un bloc d’albâtre, un parallélépipède dans lequel il creuse une concavité. La sensualité est taillée dans la forme et Untitled inspire davantage une dimension haptique qu’optique. Chez Kelly, ce n’est pas tant la matérialité de la sculpture que sa forme qui ressort. Untitled (Totem) remet en cause la vision que nous avons des anciens objets totémiques, grands et monumentaux. Ici, ni l’un ni l’autre attribut ne se vérifiant, en raison de sa dimension modeste, la sculpture ne peut être vue comme une construction refermée sur soi. Les éléments extérieurs sont convoqués en un jeu de perceptions et relations : depuis leur position par rapport à l’horizon et au parc, ainsi que par rapport au soleil et à la pelouse.

Things for a House on an Island est assurément la rencontre la plus étrange dans ce parc de sculptures. Peter Fischli & David Weiss mettent en scène un logement en l’absence de ses habitants. Nous apercevons par la fenêtre ce qui peut être l’intimité de quelqu’un et le désir d’isolement et réclusion comme partie d’un idéal romantique.

De l’autre côté de l’Astrup Fearnley Museum, après le pont qui franchit l’étroit canal, Antony Gormley défie la gravité et les axes tridimensionnels. Un personnage en fer est fermement installé sur le plan du mur du musée. Il nous fixe de haut, l’air menaçant, comme s’il allait tomber. Mais son aspect statique contraste avec la suggestion de mouvement de la propre gravité.

Non loin, de l’autre côté de l’escalier, Ugo Rondinone moule la tête énorme d’une créature fantastique. S’il y a certainement une ressemblance avec des personnages de dessins animés, on ne peut ne pas remarquer que son expression a quelque chose d’insidieux. MOONRISE. east. November. est autant cartoon que partie d’une sculpture plus grande à venir, laissant deviner un monstre aux proportions colossales.

En résumé, le parc de sculptures de Tjuvholmen est un espace accueillant et familial, qui profite de sa complicité avec l’Astrup Fearnley Museum et du paysage offert aux visiteurs. Sa vitalité se trouve effectivement dans sa proximité avec la vie urbaine et cosmopolite d’Oslo et des différentes occasions photographiques qu’elle offre – une caractéristique, d’ailleurs, toujours plus exploitée par les institutions et fondations culturelles, comme des fenêtres d’opportunités touristique et médiatique. Et sa proximité avec les fjords suscite le double désir de contempler cet ensemble de sculptures sur terre, mais aussi en mer, une façon totalement différente de faire l’expérience de l’art.

skulpturparken.webflow.io

Commentaires (0)

    Ajouter un commentaire